My favourite movie – The Social Network and why do I love it so much?

Why is this my favourite?

I didn’t realize this is my favourite movie until someone asked me what my favourite movie was, and this movie screened back in 2010 popped up in my head, again and again. I had to reminisce about all the films I’ve watched before I could answer, as a movie fanatic, it was quite embarrassing when I opened my mouth but not a name could be pronounced.

The_Social_Network_SCree1After days thinking about this film, I finally realize, this is the kind of movie I could watch over and over again. Thus I realized my favourite movie genre is biographical drama.

Why should I watch it? 

After telling people this is my fav, their reactions really broke my heart, this is such an underrated movie in Hong Kong, as it is crafted so beautifully, from the screenplay to the acting, and the directing to the editing, also the score! It perfectly demonstrated what the director – David Fincher, was capable of doing, also editing done by Angus Wall and Kirk Baxter. The cast: Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield, Justin Timberlake and Armie Hammer, and Dakota Johnson!

No one would still be unfamiliar with these names by now, that after 8 years, Jesse has played in “Now You See Me”, “Cafe Society” and  “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice”; Andrew is “The Amazing Spiderman” (So hot); Armie starred in “Call Me By Your Name” (I’m fainting); Dakota, the girl who was wearing the Stanford undies? Now we have to call her Mrs Grey.

262e6b594e3ab128e0fe47d35f779d1c

Back to the movie, it’s not that appealing to most people as it’s about Mark Zuckerberg and how he started Facebook, the film portrays the founding of social networking website Facebook and the resulting lawsuits. Yet the story about the aching emotions are displayed so well, we can really get into the character of Zuckerberg, this is a movie full of details, are processed meticulously.

e7f8c21025da47da59c3ba2a931a5346What I love best?

 

I have to say, the plot and the cinematography.

It’s tense, the dialogues are well-built on top of each line, audiences are easy to absorb into the world of that decade, you can really feel every character and think in their way. The colour grading is amazing, the post-production is mind-blowing… Just check out the trailer, it’ll show you what I just summed up.

My favourite scene:

The Henley Royal Regatta, it’s basically a fabulous 1:45 music video fitted into the movie.

Awards received:

At the 83rd Academy Awards, the film received eight nominations, and won three; Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Original Score, and Best Film Editing. (Well, The King’s Speech won Best Picture, and there’s also Inception). The film received awards for Best Motion Picture – Drama, Best Director, Best Screenplay, and Best Original Score at the 68th Golden Globe Awards. YAY!

If you haven’t watched this film, I suggest you watch it, it’s hard to find a movie that is perfect in every aspect of the making, David Fincher is a perfectionist after all.

 

This is my first ever writing about movies, hope you like it! 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment